Wisdom for Healing & Practicing What You Love

hoop

 

“You don’t need to justify your love, you don’t need to explain your love, you just need to practice your love. Practice creates the master.”
– Miguel Ruiz

I recently inherited Caroline Myss’s Wisdom for Healing cards, and I have been experimenting with them. As much as I love tarot, I decided to play with oracle decks for a while. Oracle decks, in my opinion, take some of the pressure off. The person getting the reading doesn’t have to rely entirely on the reader’s interpretation alone. They can develop their own relationship with the cards before I even speak.

Sometimes, if the person getting a reading with a more traditional deck doesn’t feel that they are connecting with the cards, I take it personally. It’s shown me where I need to grow. The universe will deal out whatever that individual needs to see. It could pertain to something that hasn’t even occurred yet, but in that moment when it does happen, and the synchronicity occurs, that card is immediately relevant. To gain more confidence, I am setting out in a new direction by focusing more on oracle decks. With the Wisdom for Healing cards, the reader is greeted by positive imagery and simple phrases that have immense healing power.

I spent the last hour of my morning hooping, listening to good music, and soaking in the sun. So, naturally, feeling this good, it seemed especially appropriate to try out this new deck. The cards I pulled were: See the Good in Everything, Bring Humor into Your Life, and Enhance Your Physical Health; all of which pertain to my hooping practice.

I am not (yet!) a professional performer, but every time I pick up my hoop I get better; either I land a new trick or I polish the ones I have learned, all while establishing a deeper relationship between the hoop and my body. Harmonious momentum. Hula hooping is a wonderful exercise, pulling in the importance of the “Enhance Your Physical Health” card. What I love most about hooping is that it is an exercise for body, mind, and soul. It tests and strengthens the mind and how it coordinates with the body. It allows the hooper to be fully and truly in the moment. It tests the body, by asking it to move in ways it might never have in order to support and sustain the hoop, and allows it to gain its own momentum. It’s exercise for the soul in that it allows the hooper to express their emotions in a healthy way and to release the unhealthy ones without harming anything. It turns the negative into something positive.

As a hooper, I have had to practice patience with myself, and one fantastic way to do that is to find a reason to laugh. As I practice, I drop the hoop, I smack myself in the face, I falter, I have issues, and that’s okay. It happens, and it’s good that it does. This is why I feel such a connection to the “Bring Humor into Your Life” card. Sometimes I take myself far too seriously. While I hoop, I put myself in a position where I can fail, or look goofy, or ridiculous, and that can either be incredibly frustrating or incredibly hilarious (either way, it’s incredibly liberating!). Through practice, I have learned that I can’t know how the hoop will behave until I test out all the ways I can mess up, and by experimenting with the movement of the hoop I may even discover how to do another trick or how to transition and make the flow between tricks smoother. However, I do understand that sometimes, the movement won’t feel as freeing, and you may even feel restricted by the amount of movement you haven’t experienced (especially when starting out). So, I recommend laughter and to again: not take it personally! Instead of getting angry at the unexpected, laugh at the unexpected! Find the humor in the situation and focus on that instead. It’s changed the way I react to a lot of situations and has made it easier for me to pick the hoop back up and try it again.

Overall, the lesson of the day is to “See the Good in Everything”. Whether you like to hoop, paint, write, dance, garden, or play sports the lesson here is the same. Omit the hooping parts, and imagine what is relevant to you, and understand that it’s usually the ugly experiences that are the most defining.

Leave a Reply

